You know how some women covet shoes…

Many, MANY moons ago when I started in photography, I was shooting Velvia slide film.  I was just learning and it was great.  Then the whole digital thing kicked in and I thought that that was cool so I went digital.  A few years after that, I had the opportunity to take a course on how to use a large format camera.

I fell in love.

By the end of the class, I actually owned a 4×5 Toyo view camera.  What I loved about it was that it slowed everything down.  I actually had to know how Sunny-16 worked.  I actually had to learn how to use a light meter.  And because of the price of materials, I actually had to really want to snap that shutter.

Today, I own three 4×5 cameras.

Then yesterday, after a 7-month journey of looking for parts, my Grandfather’s Leica SL finally came back home; fixed, cleaned, and meter calibrated.  I have some old 35mm film in my fridge that I will run thru the camera this weekend to make sure all’s well (I am sure it is).

IMG_4429

One thought on “You know how some women covet shoes…

Leave a Reply

