Ernst and Otto

Ernst was my grandfather.  Otto was his cousin.

In 2012, my mother found a box in the attic that was probably tagged to be tossed in the trash.  One last look uncovered a treasure.  Correspondence between Ernst and Otto dating from the early 1940’s to the mid-1990’s.   Letters outlining the birth of my mother and two uncles, stories about Otto’s ultimate immigration to Lima, Peru, tidbits about the book Ernst was writing, and all sorts of references to the world around them.

In a previous post, I talked about a Leica camera that I inherited from my grandfather – there are references to this camera in these letters.

I am taking these 50 years of correspondence and putting together an iBook.  A look at their extraordinary lives thru the letters they wrote to each other.  No ETA as of yet.  We are still getting all the letters organized chronologically and translated – most of Otto’s letters are written in German.   When I go to NC next month, we’ll look at photos that would work with the text.

I find it fascinating because it’s my grandpa.  I also find it fascinating with it’s history.

I should have paid more attention in history class in school.

Leave a Reply

