Teaching my self to bind…

…books!    Not only am I making boxes to present my images, I am attempting another binding method.   As you might remember, I have done Japanese Stab binding and Accordion binding.  I am now trying Coptic binding.   This is a binding that allows a number of signatures and a front and back cover but no spine.  Here’s a link to the tutorial I followed:  http://www.tortagialla.com/2010/08/16/chain-or-coptic-stitch-bookbinding-tutorial/

It’s very easy to do.  I struggled a bit with a straight needle on my prototype so a curved needle for a larger attempt would make this much, much easier.   What’s really nice about this type of binding is the fact that it lays flat – something that is important when displaying my work.

One thought on “Teaching my self to bind…

  1. Amanda – Cool! I'm glad that I'm not the only person who seems to be totally intriqued with bookbinding in combination with photography! I've recently been making blank books that have a photograph of mine on the cover, and for one of them I used the coptic/chain stitch. It was difficult with a straight needle, though – I hadn't thought about using a curved one. Maybe I'll try that next time.Have you seen a technique that's similar, where you stitch the signatures over tapes, and then the tapes are glued to the front and back covers? This is the technique I've been using most often, and it works great – I use ribbon (fabric) as the tape. It will also lay flat when opened.Thanks for the link to the tutorial. I've also found a tutorial on that same site for a cute little accordian book with a ribbon tie that I think I'm going to try out soon.What fun!!!

Leave a comment